Season 2

Season 2 (1961)




Episodes List

Ep.1 Wed Jan 04 1961

Air Date: 1961-01-04

Christine is annoyed that Malcolm didn't see her over her mourning period and slams the door in his face. Ken and his student friends make ban-the-bomb posters until Ida orders them out of the house. Arnold Tanner turns up at No.11 after fifteen years and asks Elsie to give him a divorce so that he can marry Norah Dawson. She refuses and they argue before he storms out. Ena, seeing Arnold leaving the house from her vestry window, spreads it about that Elsie's got a fella. Harry is promoted to inspector at the bus depot.

Ep.2 Fri Jan 06 1961

Air Date: 1961-01-06

Harry packs Lucille's items for her to return to the orphanage after the Christmas holidays.

Ep.3 Wed Jan 11 1961

Air Date: 1961-01-11

Elsie is in a foul mood and tells Linda that the cause is Ena, who she overheard in the Rovers Return telling people that she has a boyfriend.

Ep.4 Fri Jan 13 1961

Air Date: 1961-01-13

Elsie threatens Ena in the Rovers and tells her the man is, in fact, Arnold. The milkman can't raise Albert - Ken and David break into No.1 to find Albert collapsed in the kitchen. Dr. Tinsley feels that Albert's daughter, Beattie, ought to look after Albert. Christine gets a bill from the plumbers for £1, 1/3. The plumber's mate, Joe Makinson, takes the bill back in sympathy when she can't pay it. Ida alerts Beattie to Albert's collapse and condition but Albert refuses to live with his daughter. Elsie has some beauty cream and starts to relax when Arnold arrives to have a chat.

Ep.5 Wed 18 Jan 1961

Air Date: 1961-01-18

Beattie refuses to return home until Albert agrees to come with her.

Ep.6 Fri Jan 20 1961

Air Date: 1961-01-20

Frank warns Ida again not to go running round after Albert and snaps at Ken when he thinks he's siding with his mother.

Ep.7 Wed Jan 25 1961

Air Date: 1961-01-25

Harry has left a parcel on her Eileen's bus and she wants to give it back.

Ep.8 Fri Jan 27 1961

Air Date: 1961-01-27

Elsie tells Dennis to stay in for their repaired television delivery, as well as for Linda and Ivan who are coming to do some shopping for the baby.

Ep.9 Wed Feb 01 1961

Air Date: 1961-02-01

Ena objects to the police commandeering the Mission. Swindley and Miss Nugent prepare the hall. The residents of Coronation Street camp down together for the night.

Ep.10 Fri Feb 03 1961

Air Date: 1961-02-03

The Walkers welcome their daughter Joan and her fiance Gordon. Frank disapproves of Ken buying on hire purchase. Dennis tries to get money to spend on a girl at the club.

Ep.11 Wed Feb 08 1961

Air Date: 1961-02-08

Frank castigates Ida when she admits she's bought loose covers on hire purchase.

Ep.12 Wed Feb 15 1961

Air Date: 1961-02-15

Annie castigates Jack due to his drunken behaviour in front of George Davies.

Ep.13 Fri Feb 17 1961

Air Date: 1961-02-17

Ep.14 Wed Feb 22 1961

Air Date: 1961-02-22

Mary Stubbs tells Ida that the residents are being offered the option to buy their houses for £200 each; Ida is interested and wonders how to persuade Frank.

Ep.15 Fri Feb 24 1961

Air Date: 1961-02-24

Martha and Minnie try to get away with under paying their fares but get caught out by Harry.

Ep.16 Wed Mar 01 1961

Air Date: 1961-03-01

Albert boils his kettle and it takes forty-one minutes to boil due to the poor gas pressure.

Ep.17 Fri Mar 03 1961

Air Date: 1961-03-03

Vera Lomax asks Ena to look after her troublesome son Colin for her tomorrow.

Ep.18 Mon Mar 06 1961

Air Date: 1961-03-06

Ena makes the most of spending time with her grandson, Colin. Linda despairs at the latest news of Number 9. Ken snaps when his family mention Susan's name.

Ep.19 Mon Mar 13 1961

Air Date: 1961-03-13

The womenfolk watch as Jack escorts Joan to St. Thomas' church. They are late when the car won't start. Weatherfield County FC are interested in signing David up. The Walkers entertain their family at the Rovers after the reception at The Ridgeway although the majority of the Davies family have not come back, being teetotallers. However they endure Gordon's Uncle Fred all evening before discovering he is not a relative at all but just a friend of the family.

Ep.20 Wed Mar 15 1961

Air Date: 1961-03-15

Ep.21 Mon Mar 20 1961

Air Date: 1961-03-20

Ep.22 Wed Mar 22 1961

Air Date: 1961-03-22

Ep.23 Mon Mar 27 1961

Air Date: 1961-03-27

Ep.24 Wed Mar 29 1961

Air Date: 1961-03-29

Ep.25 Mon Apr 03 1961

Air Date: 1961-04-03

Ep.26 Wed Apr 05 1961

Air Date: 1961-04-05

Ep.27 Mon Apr 10 1961

Air Date: 1961-04-10

Ep.28 Wed Apr 12 1961

Air Date: 1961-04-12

Ep.29 Mon Apr 17 1961

Air Date: 1961-04-17

Dr. Graham tells Ena she has only twisted her ankle. Swindley insists she still leaves the Mission. Martha grows alarmed as Ena takes her house over. Emily moves into the vestry as temporary caretaker. Ken spends time at Marian Lund's flat. She is a librarian at the university and eleven years his senior. He tells her that he loves her. Ena tricks Martha into parting with her precious whisky. Albert gives Swindley a petition for the reinstatement of Ena. Marian tells Ken not to tell his parents about her yet. Christine tells Esther she doesn't want to get engaged to Joe but doesn't know how to tell him.

Ep.30 Wed Apr 19 1961

Air Date: 1961-04-19

Ep.31 Mon Apr 24 1961

Air Date: 1961-04-24

Ep.32 Wed Apr 26 1961

Air Date: 1961-04-26

Ep.33 Mon May 01 1961

Air Date: 1961-05-01

Ep.34 Wed May 03 1961

Air Date: 1961-05-03

Ep.35 Mon May 08 1961

Air Date: 1961-05-08

Ep.36 Wed May 10 1961

Air Date: 1961-05-10

Ep.37 Mon May 15 1961

Air Date: 1961-05-15

Ep.38 Wed May 17 1961

Air Date: 1961-05-17

Ep.39 Mon May 22 1961

Air Date: 1961-05-22

Ep.40 Wed May 24 1961

Air Date: 1961-05-24

Ep.41 Mon May 29 1961

Air Date: 1961-05-29

Ep.42 Wed May 31 1961

Air Date: 1961-05-31

Ep.43 Mon Jun 05 1961

Air Date: 1961-06-05

Ep.44 Wed Jun 07 1961

Air Date: 1961-06-07

Ep.45 Mon Jun 12 1961

Air Date: 1961-06-12

Ep.46 Wed Jun 14 1961

Air Date: 1961-06-14

Ep.47 Mon Jun 19 1961

Air Date: 1961-06-19

Ep.48 Wed Jun 21 1961

Air Date: 1961-06-21

Ep.49 Mon June 26 1961

Air Date: 1961-06-26

Ep.50 Wed Jun 28 1961

Air Date: 1961-06-28

Ep.51 Mon Jul 03 1961

Air Date: 1961-07-03

Ep.52 Wed Jul 05 1961

Air Date: 1961-07-05

Ep.53 Mon Jul 10 1961

Air Date: 1961-07-10

Ep.54 Wed Jul 12 1961

Air Date: 1961-07-12

Ep.55 Mon Jul 17 1961

Air Date: 1961-07-17

Ep.56 Wed Jul 19 1961

Air Date: 1961-07-19

Ep.57 Mon Jul 24 1961

Air Date: 1961-07-24

Ep.58 Wed Jul 26 1961

Air Date: 1961-07-26

Ep.59 Mon Jul 31 1961

Air Date: 1961-07-31

Ep.60 Mon Aug 02 1961

Air Date: 1961-08-02

Ep.61 Mon Aug 07 1961

Air Date: 1961-08-07

Ep.62 Wed Aug 09 1961

Air Date: 1961-08-09

Ep.63 Mon Aug 14 1961

Air Date: 1961-08-14

Ep.64 Wed Aug 16 1961

Air Date: 1961-08-16

Ep.65 Mon Aug 21 1961

Air Date: 1961-08-21

Ep.66 Wed Aug 23 1961

Air Date: 1961-08-23

Ep.67 Mon Aug 28 1961

Air Date: 1961-08-28

Ep.68 Wed Aug 30 1961

Air Date: 1961-08-30

Ep.69 Mon Sep 04 1961

Air Date: 1961-09-04

Ep.70 Wed Sep 06 1961

Air Date: 1961-09-06

Ep.71 Mon Sep 11 1961

Air Date: 1961-09-11

Nancy Leathers hears from the Council that they have an OAP bungalow for her. Frank worries that Ida is late home from visiting Beattie's. Dennis is summoned to Lenny Phillips' office. Ken calls on Beattie Pearson and discovers Ida has not been there. Lenny tells Dennis he is not at all talented but wants him to work for him as a talent scout. Frank contacts the police who realise that her description matches that of a woman who was knocked down in Gray Street and is dead. They arrive in the Street to tell him.

Ep.72 Wed Sep 13 1961

Air Date: 1961-09-13

Ep.73 Mon Sep 18 1961

Air Date: 1961-09-18

Ep.74 Wed Sep 20 1961

Air Date: 1961-09-20

Ep.75 Mon Sep 25 1961

Air Date: 1961-09-25

Ep.76 Wed Sep 27 1961

Air Date: 1961-09-27

Ep.77 Mon Oct 02 1961

Air Date: 1961-10-02

Concepta and Harry are married at St. Theresa's where Lucille is the bridesmaid and Len is the best man. Linda is jealous when Ivan and Nona Willis spend the day together working in the Rovers. At the reception, the Hewitts receive telegrams from Alice Burgess, David Barlow, Billy Walker, Joan Davies, Ivan and Nona. Dot Greenhalgh fancies Bill but Alf tries to get him interested in Elsie - something which doesn't go unnoticed by Ena. Harry and Concepta go on honeymoon and book into the Cresta Hotel at Port Erin on the Isle of Man.

Ep.78 Wed Oct 04 1961

Air Date: 1961-10-04

Ep.79 Mon Oct 09 1961

Air Date: 1961-10-09

Ep.80 Wed Oct 11 1961

Air Date: 1961-10-11

Ep.81 Mon Oct 16 1961

Air Date: 1961-10-16

Swindley organises the evening's trip to the Blackpool illuminations. Doreen agrees to become the new barmaid and gives her notice in to Swindley. Two young lads and clerks from the Town Hall, Phil Braithwaite and Norman Dobson, arrive looking for digs in the area. Jack, Ena, Minnie, Martha, Albert, Ken, Val, Frank, Christine, Dennis, Jed, Jean, Elsie, Bill, Alf, Doreen, Swindley and Emily go to Blackpool. Brian looks after Esther, in bed with flu. Elsie and Bill become brazen in their affair. The coach leaves with Ena still having her palm read by a Fortune Teller.

Ep.82 Wed Oct 18 1961

Air Date: 1961-10-18

Ep.83 Mon Oct 23 1961

Air Date: 1961-10-23

Ep.84 Wed Oct 25 1961

Air Date: 1961-10-25

Ep.85 Mon Oct 30 1961

Air Date: 1961-10-30

Ep.86 Wed Nov 01 1961

Air Date: 1961-11-01

Ep.87 Mon Nov 06 1961

Air Date: 1961-11-06

Ep.88 Wed 8 Nov, 1961

Air Date: 1961-11-08

Elsie apologies to Annie. The Cheveskis receive a letter from a workmate of Ivan's in Canada. His photos of the affluent life there interest Linda. Elsie and Ena confront each other in the Street and verbally attack each other as the residents look on. Dennis has to stop Elsie from hitting Ena, who ends the fight by shouting that if she had written the letter she would have had the decency to sign it. Elsie realises with shock that she's right. The argument over, the residents wonder who did write it.

Ep.89 Mon Nov 13 1961

Air Date: 1961-11-13

Ep.90 Wed Nov 15 1961

Air Date: 1961-11-15

Ep.91 Mon Nov 20 1961

Air Date: 1961-11-20

Ep.92 Wed 22 Nov, 1961

Air Date: 1961-11-22

Frank rows with Ken for not telling him he'd given up his job. He refuses to let Dennis get him a job. Ken tells him he's not prepared to listen to him calling him 'idle' anymore and he'd do any job to pay his way. Minnie buys a see-through nightie from Swindley. Word spreads that Ken asked Dennis for a job - Elsie is amused. Returning from an Adam Faith concert Christine meets Ken at the station coffee room. He tells her he's leaving for London but she makes him realise that he's running away from himself and he returns home.

Ep.93 Mon Nov 27 1961

Air Date: 1961-11-27

Ep.94 Wed Nov 29 1961

Air Date: 1961-11-29

Ep.95 Mon Dec 04 1961

Air Date: 1961-12-04

Ep.96 Wed Dec 06 1961

Air Date: 1961-12-06

Ep.97 Mon Dec 11 1961

Air Date: 1961-12-11

Ep.98 Wed Dec 13 1961

Air Date: 1961-12-13

Ep.99 Mon Dec 18 1961

Air Date: 1961-12-18

Ep.100 Wed Dec 20 1961

Air Date: 1961-12-20

Dennis seeks items to make a costume for the fancy dress contest at the Orinoco. Harry buys a surprise for Concepta to make amends. Ena makes peace with a relieved Minnie and Martha.

Ep.101 Mon Dec 25 1961

Air Date: 1961-12-25

Ena gets more than she bargained for as she tucks into Minnie's Christmas pudding. Elsie has a change of heart and prepares dinner for Dennis. The Hewitts' television breaks before the Queen's speech.

Ep.102 Wed Dec 27 1961

Air Date: 1961-12-27

Annie decides the culprit when money vanishes from the till. Concepta rejoices when Harry capitulates and agrees that she can return to work at the Rovers permanently. Elsie sticks up for Dennis.